Yungblud – ‘Cotton Candy’ | Video

Yungblud cotton candy artwork

Yungblud releases new track ‘Cotton Candy


Yungblud’s latest Single ‘Cotton Candy’ was released on the 9th of October. It is the latest preview of his latest album Weird! due to be released on the 13th of November. Four other tracks on the album have already been released including ‘strawberry lipstick’ and ‘god save me but don’t drown me out’.

‘Cotton Candy’ is a fun and upbeat song dedicated to sexual liberation. In an interview with Kerrang, Yungblud said that the song is about sexual liberation saying that “To me, sex and sexuality is about freedom and the idea that you can to lose yourself in other people of all genders”.

From the second I heard the bassline, I was hooked. This song is the perfect mix of pop features with cross-genre influences.The well-crafted melodies show what a talented songwriter Dominic Harrison really is. The lyrics are seductive and flirtatious, the chorus has catchy hooks and is filled with harmonies and backing vocals.

The sexual liberation that Yungblud is well known for comes through in both the lyrics and the bold, colourful, video that goes alongside it. The video is a fuck you to sexual convention. Yungblud has been known for his questioning of authority, and this video is the perfect example of why he is such an important figure in today’s pop culture.

Words by Holly Sawal

Yungblud -Upcoming Tour Dates
Mon November 16 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Tue November 17 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Wed November 18 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Thu November 19 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Fri November 20 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Sat November 21 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Sun November 22 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Mon November 23 2020 – VIRTUAL EVENT Unknown Venue
Mon March 08 2021 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Tue March 09 2021 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Wed March 10 2021 – GLASGOW Barrowland
Thu March 11 2021 – GLASGOW Barrowland
Mon March 15 2021 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Tue March 16 2021 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Wed March 17 2021 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Thu March 18 2021 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Fri March 19 2021 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Sat March 20 2021 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town

Social profiles